fbpx

AlpAddict

Specialist in the Alps, between lakes and mountains

Tarentaise, Vanoise and Three Valleys

Vanoise and Trois Vallées: skiing and hiking!

The Vanoise Park

Does La Vanoise ring a bell? It's France's first national park, created with the aim of preserving the flora and fauna of the high mountains! So you already know that on your hikes you're going to discover marmots and ibexes (and other animals too). The gateway to the Park is Pralognan la Vanoise, a village that has retained all its authenticity.

The village is surrounded by high mountains, but the paths soon take you to higher ground and a much clearer view. In particular, the path that crosses Lac des Vaches, facing glaciers, can be followed all the way to the Vanoise refuge, a real crossroads in the middle of Savoie's most beautiful mountains.

The Parc de la Vanoise is criss-crossed by beautiful long-distance hiking trails that follow the old merchants' paths that used to link the Maurienne with the Tarentaise and vice-versa.

But if you're looking at this destination, it's probably because you're already enjoying skiing in the world's largest ski area... the Three Valleys!

Les Trois Vallées, the world's largest ski area

South of Moûtiers, in the TarentaiseFrom the small spa town of Brides les Bains, you can choose between several world-renowned resorts, linked by a network of lifts.

First of all, from Brides les Bains, you can take the gondola up to Méribel. As is often the case in Savoie, these resorts are made up of several villages or hamlets with very different styles, often depending on altitude. Méribel Mottaret, for example, resembles a high-altitude resort, although its wooded setting and proximity to Lac de Tueda give it a picture-postcard landscape, while Méribel Les Allues is a hamlet of beautiful chalets.

The Méribel valley is the central valley.

Eastwards, past the charming village of Bozel, you climb up through the forests to the thousand-faceted resort of Courchevel. From family hamlets like La Tania and Le Praz, to the very posh Courchevel 1850. To the west, the more open, south-facing Belleville valley takes you up to Les Menuires and Val Thorens, Europe's highest resort at 2300m.

Méribel, Courchevel, Val Thorens, luxury and skiing

Méribel, Courchevel, Les Menuires and Val Thorens make up the Three Valleys. The skiability of the Val Thorens slopes, accessible even from Orelle in the Maurienneor the luxury of Méribel and Courchevel: their reputations have been established decades ago. However, each of these resorts offers a full range of prices for your stay, making them affordable destinations for all budgets and allowing you to ski in the most beautiful ski area in the world. You need to have skied there once in your life to understand that this is true.

Snow cover is favored by abundant precipitation and altitude. At Val Tho (Val Thorens, for those in the know), you can ski from mid-November to mid-May with no risk of running out of snow, in a truly white world. You soon forget how artificial the resort is, far removed from the clichés of a small mountain village in the face of such vast expanses of snow as far as the eye can see.

In summer, these resorts offer a wide range of sporting activities, and while not all of them are as charming as real mountain villages because of their architecture, the landscapes you discover on the ridges between the valleys during your walks are breathtaking.

Smaller, more family-friendly resorts 

On the other hand, the pretty, authentic villages include Pralognan, Bozel, Saint Martin de Belleville and Champagny en Vanoise, which is linked to the ski area of La Plagne which offers all the characteristics of a small mid-mountain village, and is an excellent base from which to visit the region. In winter, the Nordic ski area of Champagny le haut offers an escape from the hustle and bustle of this highly touristic region.

Finally, just before the lock of Moûtiers and the entrance to the Vanoise, a pretty, family-friendly mountain resort deserves a mention. This is Valmorel, linked in winter to Saint François Longchamp by pistes that cross the Col de la Madeleine, the traditional summer gateway between the Tarentaise and Maurienne regions.

In the heart of the French Alps, in the Savoie region, this is the ideal destination for all lovers of landscapes, sensations and high mountain discovery.

 

Discover this region by reading the following articles from the AlpAddict blog!

 

The French Alps

The French Alps

The French Alps, with their diversity of landscapes and climates, will enable you to design the holiday that's right for you. AlpAddict will guide you in your choices.

Discover the Vanoise and Three Valleys on video

The best webcams in Vanoise and Trois Vallées

(click on the village name)

  • Val Thorens Val Thorens: the resort center webcam that lets you check snow conditions at the foot of the slopes
  • Les MenuiresLes Menuires: the webcam facing south of the resort gives an overview of snow conditions in the hamlet of Reberty and the Pointe de la Masse sector.
  • Méribel MottaretMéribel Mottaret: beautiful view of the Méribel valley, with the Mottaret district in the foreground.
  • Méribel TuedaA webcam to watch Lake Tueda freeze and thaw!
  • CourchevelA view of the ski area above Courchevel 1650
  • Pralognan la VanoiseThe village center webcam
  • Champagny en VanoiseWebcam of Champagny le Haut, winter starting point for cross-country ski trails
Alps Discovery Activities

Activities not to be missed in Vanoise and Trois Vallées

  • Ski the 3 Valleys! A paradise for skiers of all levels.
  • Ski in the Val Thorens ski area, up to 3200m altitude, in the Orelle valley. Due south, far from the noise... magic
  • Stroll around Lac de Tueda, in Méribel Mottaret.
  • Stroll through the luxurious boutiques of Courchevel 1850, and ski along the large chalets at the bottom of the resort.
  • Cross-country skiing in the great outdoors at Champagny-le-haut
  • Marmot-watching around Pralognan la Vanoise, gateway to the Vanoise National Park.
  • Admire the scenery of over a thousand peaks from Cime Caron in Val Thorens, accessible by cable car.

Search for accommodation

Choose your vacation country and region!

AlpAddict destination alpes

fbpx

AlpAddict

Spécialiste des Alpes, entre lacs et montagnes

Tarentaise, Vanoise et Trois Vallées

Vanoise et Trois Vallées: version ski et version randonnée !

Le Parc de la Vanoise

La Vanoise, ça vous parle ? Il s’agit du premier parc national français, créé dans le but de préserver la flore et la faune de haute montagne ! Du coup, vous savez déjà que pendant vos randonnées vous allez découvrir les marmottes et les bouquetins (et d’autres animaux aussi). La porte d’entrée du Parc se trouve à Pralognan la Vanoise, un village qui a gardé toute son authenticité.

Le village est entouré de hautes montagnes, mais très rapidement les chemins vous emmènent prendre de la hauteur et profiter d’une vue bien plus dégagée. Notamment celui qui traverse le Lac des Vaches, face à des glaciers, et que vous pouvez suivre jusqu’au refuge de la Vanoise, véritable carrefour au milieu des plus belles montagnes de Savoie.

Le Parc de la Vanoise est traversé par de très beaux sentiers de grande randonnée qui suivent les anciens chemins des marchands d’antan qui ralliaient la Maurienne depuis la Tarentaise et vice-versa.

Mais si vous regardez cette destination c’est peut-être que vous savourez déjà la glisse sur le plus grand domaine skiable du monde… les Trois Vallées !

Les Trois Vallées, le plus grand domaine skiable au monde

Au sud de Moûtiers, en Tarentaise, à partir de la petite cité thermale de Brides les Bains, vous avez le choix entre plusieurs stations de renommée mondiale, reliée entre elles par le maillage des remontées mécaniques.

D’abord, justement depuis Brides les Bains, vous pouvez rejoindre en télécabine la station de Méribel. Comme souvent en Savoie, ces stations sont composées de plusieurs villages ou hameaux aux styles très différents, souvent en fonction de l’altitude. Ainsi, Méribel Mottaret ressemble à une station d’altitude, bien que le site boisé et la proximité du lac de Tueda lui donne un paysage de carte postale, alors que Méribel Les Allues est un hameau composé de très beaux chalets.

La vallée de Méribel, est la vallée centrale.

Vers l’Est, après le village charmant de Bozel, vous remontez au milieu des forêts vers la station de Courchevel, aux mille facettes. Des hameaux familiaux comme La Tania ou Le Praz, à la très huppée Courchevel 1850. Vers l’Ouest, la vallée des Belleville, plus dégarnie et très exposée au Sud, vous fait remonter vers les Menuires et Val Thorens, plus haute station d’Europe à 2300m d’altitude.

Méribel, Courchevel, Val Thorens, luxe et ski

MéribelCourchevelLes Menuires et Val Thorens, composent les Trois Vallées. On ne vantera plus la skiabilité des pistes de Val Thorens accessible même depuis Orelle en Maurienne, ou le luxe de Méribel et de Courchevel : leur réputation est établie depuis plusieurs décennies déjà. Cependant, chacune de ces stations propose toutes les gammes de prix pour vos séjours, ce qui en fait finalement des destinations abordables pour toutes les bourses, en permettant de skier sur le plus beau domaine skiable du monde. Il faut y avoir skié une fois dans sa vie pour comprendre que c’est vrai.

L’enneigement y est favorisé par l’abondance des précipitations et par l’altitude. A Val Tho (Val Thorens, pour les habitués) on ski de mi-novembre à mi-mai sans risque de manquer de neige, dans un univers vraiment tout blanc. On oublie vite le caractère artificiel de la station, bien loin des clichés du petit village de montagne devant de telles étendues de neige, à perte de vue.

En été, ces stations offrent des activités sportives variées, et si, à cause de leur architecture, toutes ne sont pas aussi charmantes que de vrais villages de montagne, les paysages que l’on découvre sur les crêtes entre les vallées lors des balades, sont à couper le souffle.

Des stations plus petites et plus familiales 

En revanche, parmi les jolis villages authentiques, on peut citer bien sûr Pralognan, Bozel, Saint Martin de Belleville et Champagny en Vanoise, reliée, elle, au domaine skiable de La Plagne qui offre toutes les caractéristiques du petit village de moyenne montagne, et constitue une excellente base arrière pour visiter cette région. En hiver, le domaine de ski nordique de Champagny le haut permet de s’isoler de l’animation de cette région extrêmement touristique.

Enfin, juste avant le verrou de Moûtiers et l’entrée dans la Vanoise, une jolie station de montagne très familiale mérite d’être mentionnée. Il s’agit de Valmorel, reliée en hiver à Saint François Longchamp par des pistes qui traversent le col de la Madeleine, tarditionnel axe de passage estival entre la Tarentaise et la Maurienne.

Au cœur des Alpes Françaises, au cœur de la Savoie, cette destination est idéale pour tous les amateurs de paysages, de sensations, et de découverte de la haute montagne.

 

Découvrez cette région en vous inspirant des articles suivants, tirés du blog de AlpAddict!

 

Les Alpes Françaises

Les Alpes Françaises

Les Alpes Françaises par leur diversité de paysages et de climats vous permettront de concevoir le séjour qu’il vous faut. AlpAddict vous guidera dans vos choix.

Découverte de la Vanoise et des Trois Vallées en vidéo

Les meilleures webcams en Vanoise et Trois Vallées

(cliquez sur le nom du village)

  • Val Thorens : la webcam du centre de la station qui vous permet de vérifier l’enneigement au pied des pistes
  • Les Menuires: la webcam orientée vers le sud de la station donne un aperçu de l’enneigement du hameau du Reberty et du secteur de la Pointe de la Masse
  • Méribel Mottaret: très belle vue sur la vallée de Méribel, avec le quartier du Mottaret au premier plan.
  • Méribel Tueda: une webcam pour regarder geler et dégeler le lac de Tueda!
  • Courchevel: une vue du domaine skiable au-dessus de Courchevel 1650
  • Pralognan la Vanoise: la webcam du centre du village
  • Champagny en Vanoise: la webcam de Champagny le Haut, point de départ en hiver des pistes de ski de fond
Activités Découverte Alpes

Les activités à ne pas rater en Vanoise et Trois Vallées

  • Skier sur le domaine des 3 Vallées! Un paradis pour les skieurs de tous les niveaux.
  • Skier sur le domaine de Val Thorens, jusqu’à 3200m d’altitude, dans le vallon d’Orelle. Plein sud, loin du bruit… magique
  • Se balader autour du lac de Tueda, à Méribel Mottaret.
  • Se balader dans les boutiques luxueuses à Courchevel 1850, et skier le long des grands chalets dans le bas de la station.
  • Découvrir les grands espaces en ski de fond à Champagny-le-haut
  • Observer les marmottes autour de Pralognan la Vanoise, porte d’entrée du Parc National de la Vanoise.
  • Admirer le paysage sur plus d’un millier de sommets depuis la Cime Caron à Val Thorens accessible en téléphérique.

Rechercher un hébergement

Choisissez le pays et la région de vos vacances!

AlpAddict destination alpes