fbpx

Lac Léman is the largest of the French lakes, but it's not entirely in France. Its southern shore is largely French, at the foot of the Alps , while its northern shore is in Switzerland.

It's a lake that really looks like a sea. When you stand on the French shore and admire the Swiss hills opposite, the expanse of water is immense. It is criss-crossed by all manner of boats, including those of the Compagnie Générale de Navigation sur le Lac Léman (CGNL). Sometimes they look as if they've stepped out of an old film from the early 20th century, and this slightly old-fashioned style makes them stand out against the blue waters of the lake.

The French side is wedged between the foothills of the Chablais which fall almost sheer to the Lake Geneva and the sometimes stormy waters of the Joran, the violent wind that blows across the lake from the Jura mountains. The mountains behind Evian are known as the Lake Geneva Alps.

Finally, an anecdote. Two French expressions have their roots here. Il n'y a pas feu au lac" ("There's no fire on the lake"), meaning that it's not yet time to go and leave everything behind, comes from the glowing sunset over Lake Geneva. The blazing color, reminiscent of fire, signaled the end of the workday. And "faire ripaille", meaning to feast, comes from some famous feasts held at the Château de Ripaille by Amédée VIII, Duke of Savoy!

Around Evian

AlpAddict in Evian-les-Bains
Evian-les Bains - Photo: ©MaruokaJoe - stock.adobe.com

Evian-les-Bains, world-famous for its bottled water brand, whose logo recalls the Alps of Lake Geneva, is above all a spa town.

We'll go in search of the springs in the town itself. At the buvette Cachat, you can see the water flowing from a fountain after crossing the mountains... At the same time, you'll discover the old town with its spa town facades: in the style of Belle Epoque palaces or villas that certainly have a thousand stories to tell. Palais Lumière, Villa Lumière, casino, theater, parks and gardens and, last but not least, the harbor... There's everything you need to stroll through the town, which is at its best in summer. For the more romantic, we recommend a visit in autumn or winter, when the cold mists cover the lake and give the silent city a mysterious air.

A few kilometers to the east, right on the border with Switzerland, you'll discover an unusual village. Saint Gingolph. Half in Switzerland, half in France. Only one church and one cemetery to share, but a real border post between the two parts of the village.

The hinterland aroundEvian-les-Bains offers authentic mountain scenery. The Val d'Abondance, as far as Châtel, offers access to the Portes du Soleil ski area, and is dotted with typical villages and hamlets with wooden chalets and pretty churches, all set against a backdrop of pastures where cows of the Abondance breed graze silently and lazily, their milk used to make the famous cheese.

But there's also the lesser-known but equally beautiful Pays Gavot, whose capital Bernex is dominated by the towering silhouette of the Dent d'Oche.

Finally, how would you like to ski down the slopes while admiring the blue of Lake Geneva ? It's possible in just a few minutes from Evian, at the nearby resort of Thollon les Mémises.

A crossing to Montreux or Lausanne could be a good opportunity to discover the Alps behind the town ofEvian. As you step back, the mountains rise up and the town seems tiny beneath the Alpine immensity. Or take a boat to the next stop: Thonon.

Around Thonon-les-Bains

AlpAddict in Thonon
The port of Thonon-les-Bains - Photo ©mimpki - stock.adobe.com

Thonon-les-Bains is the economic center of this region. The former capital of the Chablais region, Thonon-les-Bains has a museum where you can learn about the history of the region.

The town center and the nearby riverbanks just outside the town offer lovely walks and interesting historical visits, including the famous Château de Ripaillementioned above.

The Thonon-les-Bains hinterland offers access to the Dranse valley, where you can discover the Devil's Bridge, the ruined abbey of Saint Jean d'Aulps, the village of Morzine and the resort of Avoriaz.

You can also stroll through the more "pre-Alpine" landscapes of the Vallée Verte , which is also home to ski resorts including Les Habères.

Lake and mountains are intrinsically connected in this region, and you can quickly move from sunny lakeside strolls to snowy mountains where spring has yet to arrive...

Around Yvoire

AlpAddict in Yvoire
Yvoire on Lake Geneva - ©stephane - stock.adobe.com

Yvoire, one of France's most beautiful villages, has lived up to its name. A small medieval jewel, a small port, a medieval walled garden, all in an architectural unity that earns it millions of photos every year!

Not far from here, you can relax on the most beautiful sandy beach on Lake Geneva, that ofExcevenex. This sunny spot, a little further away from the mountains, is almost like the sea.

As we all know, a lake is even more beautiful when you can admire it from above.

While the Thollon les Mémises plateau offers a view of the Grand Bassin, you can admire the Petit Bassin (the narrower part of the lake just in front of Geneva) from the summit of Mont Salève. From up there, the view sweeps over much of the Haute-Savoie and Jura mountains, including Mont Blanc of course. Below, the lake, and at its western end, the city of Geneva.

On our way back down from Mont Salève, we'll take a stroll through this Swiss town, which we'll describe in another article.

You may also be interested in these articles

Five good reasons to visit Chambéry

Five good reasons to visit Chambéry

Easily accessible, Chambéry is one of the gateways to the Alps in every season. It's not just a stopover, but a destination in its own right. AlpAddict takes you on a tour of Chambéry, the capital of Savoie.

Discover the Mont Blanc region

Discover the Mont Blanc region

Mont Blanc country is a feast for the eyes. The giant of the Alps is still there, but the landscapes are less steep and greener. AlpAddict takes you for a walk.

Lac du Bourget, a romantic lake

Lac du Bourget, a romantic lake

Lac du Bourget, France's largest lake, sometimes looks like a Riviera. However, it's in the heart of Savoie and offers a wide variety of water and mountain holidays!

fbpx

Le Lac Léman est le plus grand des lacs français mais il n’est pas entièrement en France. Sa rive Sud est en grande partie française au pied des Alpes et sa rive Nord est en revanche en Suisse.

C’est un lac qui ressemble vraiment à une mer. Lorsqu’on est sur la rive française et qu’on admire les coteaux suisses en face, l’étendue d’eau est immense. Elle est sillonnée de toutes sortes de bateaux dont ceux de la Compagnie Générale de Navigation sur le lac Léman (CGNL). Parfois ils semblent sortis d’un ancien film du début du XXème siècle, et ce style un peu suranné leur donne une fière allure sur les eaux bleues du lac.

La rive française est coincée entre les contreforts du Chablais qui tombent presque à pic sur le lac Léman et les eaux parfois tempêtueuses lorsque souffle le Joran, ce vent violent qui tombe sur le lac en provenance du Jura. Les montagnes derrière Evian sont connues sous le nom des Alpes du Léman.

Enfin, une anecdote. Deux expressions da la langue française ont leurs racines ici. « Il n’y a pas feu au lac », qui veut dire qu’il n’est pas encore temps de partir et de tout quitter, viendrait du coucher de soleil rougeoyant sur le Léman. La couleur flamboyante qui rappelle le feu signalait la fin de la journée de travail. Et « faire ripaille », qui veut dire festoyer, vient de certains célèbres festins tenus au château de Ripaille par Amédée VIII, duc de Savoie !

Autour d’Evian

AlpAddict à Evian-les-Bains
Evian-les Bains – Photo : ©MaruokaJoe – stock.adobe.com

Evian-les-Bains, ville mondialement connue pour sa marque d’eau embouteillée, dont le logo rappelle les Alpes du Léman, est avant tout une ville thermale.

On ira donc à la recherche des sources, dans la ville même. A la buvette Cachat, vous pourrez voir l’eau couler d’une fontaine après avoir traversé les montagnes… Par la même occasion on découvrira la vieille ville avec ses façades de ville thermale : du style des palaces de la Belle Epoque ou des villas qui ont certainement mille histoires à raconter. Palais Lumière, villa Lumière, casino, théâtre, parcs et jardins et enfin, le port… Tout est fait pour déambuler dans la ville qui à la belle saison offre ses meilleurs atouts. Pour les plus romantiques, on pourra conseiller une visite en automne ou en hiver, lorsque les brumes froides recouvrent le lac et donnent à la ville redevenue silencieuse des airs mystérieux.

A quelques kilomètres à l’Est, juste à la frontière avec la Suisse, on pourra découvrir un drôle de village. Saint Gingolph. Une moitié en Suisse, et l’autre moitié en France. Une seule église et un seul cimetière à se partager, mais un vrai poste frontière entre les deux parties du village.

L’arrière-pays d’Evian-les-Bains, offre des paysages de montagne très authentiques. Le Val d’Abondance, jusqu’à Châtel, offre un accès au domaine skiable des Portes du Soleil, et est constellé de village et de hameaux très typiques avec des chalets en bois et de jolies églises, le tout dans un décor de pâturages où paissent silencieusement et paresseusement les vaches de la race d’Abondance dont le lait sert à la fabrication du fameux fromage.

Mais il y a également le Pays Gavot, moins connu mais tout aussi beau dont le chef-lieu Bernex est dominé par la silhouette élancée de la Dent d’Oche.

Enfin, quelle sensation auriez-vous à dévaler des pistes de ski tout en admirant le bleu du lac Léman ? C’est possible en quelques minutes depuis Evian, à la station toute proche de Thollon les Mémises.

Une traversée vers Montreux ou Lausanne pourra être une bonne occasion pour découvrir les Alpes à l’arrière de la ville d’Evian. En prenant du recul les montagnes prennent de la hauteur et la ville semble toute petite sous l’immensité alpine. On pourra aussi prendre un bateau pour se rendre à la prochaine étape : Thonon.

Autour de Thonon-les-Bains

AlpAddict à Thonon
Le port de Thonon-les-Bains – Photo ©mimpki – stock.adobe.com

Thonon-les-Bains est le centre économique de cette région. Ancienne capitale du Chablais, c’est dans son musée que vous pourrez visiter l’histoire de cette région.

Le centre ville et les rives à proximité immédiate à la sortie de la ville offrent de jolies promenades et des visites historiques intéressantes, dont le célèbre Château de Ripaille, mentionné plus haut.

L’arrière pays de Thonon-les-Bains offre l’accès à la vallée de la Dranse, dans laquelle vous pourrez découvrir le pont du diable, l’abbaye en ruines de Saint Jean d’Aulps et le village de Morzine et la station d’Avoriaz.

Vous pourrez également vous balader dans les paysages plus « préalpins » de la Vallée Verte qui abritent aussi des stations de ski dont celle des Habères.

Lac et montagne sont intrinsèquement connectés dans cette région, et vous pourrez très vite passer d’un paysage de promenades ensoleillées en bord de lac, à des montagnes enneigées où le printemps n’est pas encore arrivé…

Autour d’Yvoire

AlpAddict à Yvoire
Yvoire au bord du lac Léman – ©stephane – stock.adobe.com

Yvoire, un des plus beaux villages de France n’a pas usurpé son appellation. Un petit bijou médiéval, un petit port, un jardin clos médiéval, le tout dans une unité architecturale qui lui vaut des millions de photos chaque année !

Non loin de là, vous pourrez vous reposer sur la plus belle plage de sable du lac Léman, celle d’Excevenex. Sur ce site, très ensoleillé et un peu plus éloigné des montagnes, on se croirait presque à la mer.

On le sait, un lac est encore plus beau quand on peut l’admirer d’en haut.

Si le plateau de Thollon les Mémises, offre une vue sur le Grand Bassin, vous pourrez admirer le Petit Bassin (la partie du lac plus étroite juste devant Genève) depuis le sommet du mont Salève. De là-haut, la vue balaye une bonne partie des montagnes de la Haute-Savoie et du Jura, dont le Mont Blanc bien sûr. En contrebas, le lac, et à son extrémité plus occidentale, la ville de Genève.

En redescendant du Mont Salève, on ira se balader dans cette ville située en Suisse, dont la découverte sera décrite dans un autre article.

Ces articles pourraient aussi vous intéresser

Vallée de Chamonix, les cinq sites incontournables

Le lac du Bourget

Autour du Lac d’Annecy

Les Alpes françaises

La Suisse entre lacs et montagnes

Cette destination vous tente? AlpAddict organise votre voyage! Découvrez les prestations d’AlpAddict en cliquant ici!

Si vous avez aimé cet article, partagez-le !